luvtotha9sRosters and More

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Should College Athletes Be Paid?

4 posters

Go down

Should College Athletes Be Paid? Empty Should College Athletes Be Paid?

Post by jd@os Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:53 pm

Nothing new here--just wanted to get your opinions on the age-old question. If you don't mind, please do two things when posting though:

1) In your first post, please specify either the college you attend/attended, or just identify the school's conference. If you didn't attend college, just ignore that and still post your thoughts (I ask because as a sociology major/psychology minor, I want to see if there is a pattern in who says what).

2) Please respect others' posts. Some people feel VERY strongly about it, and if you feel differently, please don't belittle someone else.

Even though it's a non-revenue generating sport, I'm a teacher and my teaching assistant was a volleyball player who told me she definitely thought college athletes shouldn't be paid because they were rewarded with so many other perks. Then again, her family was well off and she didn't need any money.[b]
jd@os
jd@os
Roster Lover
Roster Lover

Back to top Go down

Should College Athletes Be Paid? Empty Re: Should College Athletes Be Paid?

Post by lilvilly75 Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:32 pm

Players at USC and Ohio St. already get paid! haha just kidding... In all honesty, no, I dont think college players should get paid. That would result in meaningless recruitment (whoever can dish out the most money), and meaningless performance by players (why play to your full potential if you're already getting paid). What would eventually happen is that the rich would get richer and the poor would get poorer, literally. The smaller schools wouldnt be able to afford the better players, and therefore not be competitive.

I attended community college.

lilvilly75
Roster Head
Roster Head